Department of Biostatistics


Prospective Students



News & Events



Employment Opportunities

Resource Quicklinks

Computing Environment



The Helen Abbey Award

The Helen Abbey Award, established by friends, faculty, colleagues, and former students of Dr. Abbey (ScD, 1951), celebrates her long tenure with the Department of Biostatistics. The award honors a Biostatistics student in the second year or higher who has shown a commitment to teaching after graduation

Award winners are usually announced by the first of May each year.


2014 recipient Jenna Krall, with department chair Karen Bandeen-Roche


2015: Francis Abreu


2014: Jenna Krall
2013: Kirsten Lum, Therri Usher, George Wu
2012: Alyssa Frazee and Hilary Parker
2011: In the category of introductory courses for undergraduate and Public Health students:
  Jeffrey Goldsmith and Daniel Obeng
  In the category of Biostatistics core and elective courses:
  Bruce Swihart
2010: Matthew McCall
2009: Nicholas Reich
2008: Sandrah Eckel
2007: Ming-Wen An and Robert Scharpf
2006: Kim Fai Kenny Shum
2005: Kathryn Ziegler
2004: Michelle Shardell
2003: Hongfei Guo and Nikhil Gupte
2002: Wesley Eddings
2001: Michael Griswold
2000: Natalie Blades
1999: Felicity Boyd and Thomas Travison 
1998: Elizabeth Garrett  
1997: Jeffrey Blume
1996: Laura Cramer
1995: Sterling Hilton


For more information, please contact Mary Joy Argo, Academic Administrator (Phone: 410-614-4454; FAX: 410-955-0958; email:



Return to Honors and Awards List | Return to Home Page

© 2004, The Johns Hopkins University. All rights reserved.
web policies, 615 N. Wolfe Street, Batimore, MD 21205-2179, 410-955-5000